Top 4 Information Security Certifications


Currently, organizations are confronting more security threats than ever before. Systematic hacks and data breaches of organization resources are becoming more common, and there are no indications of this pattern backing off. Summed up ways to deal with system security never again give adequate assurance against progressively advanced threats, and qualified security experts to battle these dangers are hard to come by. It is hence organizations are happy to pay as much as possible for certified IT security professionals. 

In this article, we will discuss the top four information security certifications. Information Security certifications are as of now entirely concentrated with regards to technical skills, however, once you begin getting into the management level things, you’re additionally expected to see how to manage different departments, numerous controls, and C-level executives. 

  1. Certified Information Systems Security Professional – CISSP

The CISSP is a leading qualification that demonstrates your colleagues and employer you have a strong foundation in information security. The expertise learned in this certification is critical for any individual who needs to develop, design, implement and manage data security systems in the enterprise. The CISSP impartially measures the skills of candidates. This is the reason the credential holds such high esteem among IT, security experts. 

The CISSP is an internationally acceptable certification. Regardless of where your profession takes you, it will put you above different applicants with comparable degrees of experience who don’t hold the CISSP certification.


It was required by the candidate to have a minimum of 5 years of working experience in a field related to the CISSP test topic. You should likewise know about not less than two of the eight domains in the common body of knowledge or study material. Applicants without the mandatory work experience can fulfil the necessity with one year of work understanding and a four-year higher education or an accepted credential from the CISSP required pathway. Another choice for those without suitable work experience is to take the test and earn an Associate of (ISC)² designation. The applicant will at that point have 6 years to earn the essential work experience for the CISSP.

Format and duration of exam: The CISSP exam is based on 250 multiple choice questions which need to be answered in 6 hours. The candidate required to pass the test by 70% or 700 out of 100 points.

Cost for Exam: The cost for examination for the Asia Pacific, Americans, Africa, and the Middle East region is 599 USD.

  1. Certified Ethical Hacker – CEH

The CEH is a mid-level certification offered by the EC-Council. It’s an unquestionable requirement for IT experts who works in ethical hacking. CEH certification holders have knowledge and skills on hacking principles in areas, like, SQL injection, evading IDS, session hijacking, system hacking, footprinting and reconnaissance, worms and viruses, web applications and wireless networks, Trojans, hacking web servers, scanning networks, penetration testing, cryptography, sniffers, social engineering, honeypots, enumeration, firewalls, and denial-of-service attacks.

Numerous security jobs exist where CEH-type credentials are required. The CEH shows profitable expertise with hands-on testing. It is a worthy certification for network administrators and information security professionals and looking for a prologue to penetration testing and ethical hacking.

Prerequisites: It was required to have a minimum of 2 years of working experience related to information security or attend the official CEH training.

Format and duration of exam: The exam is consists of 125 questions and the time allowed is 4 hours. The candidates are required to score 70% to earn the certification.

Cost for the exam: Exam cost for U.S. residents is 850 USD and for the international candidate is 885 USD.

  1. Certified Information Security Manager – CISM

The CISM is designed towards individuals searching for a more senior, executive position where information security, risk management, and assurance are an aspect of their responsibilities. It covers security management codes that are both crucial and practical to the individual capacity to complete their obligations in the job of an information system security supervisor. 

As the need for information security experts keeps on rising, so does the need for CISM holders. Managerial jobs in information security are additionally more broadly promoted by corporate organizations trying to hold talented information security experts. Information security experts hoping to move into managerial positions will discover this certification particularly valuable.

Prerequisites: Applicant looking for this credential must have 5 years of working experience in the area of information security, including 3 years in the position of the information security manager. This must be confirmed before an applicant can take the exam.

Format and duration of exam: The CISM exam is based on 200 questions that need to be answered in 4 hours. The candidates are required to score 450 with a 200-800 score range to earn this certification.

Cost for Exam: Early registration cost for ISACA members is 575 USD while for non-ISACA members is 760 USD.

  1. CompTIA Security+

The CompTIA Security+ is a famous, vendor-neutral certification that is a decent beginning stage for information security experts. The Security+ certification focused at initial level security experts and offers learning methodologies which help applicants to construct a foundational understanding of information security. The Security+ test highlights six domains profitable for ambitious information security experts. 

Applicants that accomplish the Security+ certification will undoubtedly see a return on their underlying speculation. The Bureau of Labor Statistics states security managers, administrators, and specialists with the Security+ certification can make as much as USD 86,000 every year. The Security+ is also approved by the United States Department of Defense and Internationally acceptable certification. This is a great initial level course amazing for those new to the domain of information security.

Prerequisites: Candidates are required to hold CompTIA Network+ certification and have 2 years of experience in the role of security administration with a security-focused is preferred. Candidate can prepare for the exam by attending CompTIA Security+ online training.

Format and duration of exam: The CompTIA Security+ exam is based on 90 questions with an available time of 90 minutes. The candidates are required to score 75 on the 100-900 scale to earn the certification.

Cost for the Exam: The cost to attempt the exam is 320 USD.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.